RESEARCH | Advocacy & Education

Posted on 26/09/2009

0


In an earlier post, I noted the role of the non-profit sector in enhancing consultative, deliberative and engagement processes regarding urban development and the urban environment. I’ve observed that, unlike the USA and UK, in Australia there aren’t many (if any) citizen based groups that are specifically focused on urban planning and design. I’ve decided to set myself a small research task under the umbrella of Placing to consider what it would take to establish such an initiative. I’ll be looking at international examples of advocacy and education initiatives such as UrbanPlan as well as organisations which actively encourage citizen planning and participatory design. Such an exploration sits with the objective of Placing to consider possibilities for ‘public conversation’ as a social and cultural change activity.

Posted in: Uncategorized